109th National Congress

This year the Italian Physical Society is organizing its 109th National Congress from 11 to 15 September 2023 at the Physics Department of the University of Salerno (Fisciano).


President: Salvatore De Pasquale

Vice president and Scientific Scretary: Nadia Martucciello

Local Committee: Mario Fusco Girard, Renata Adami, Antonella Amoruso, Adolfo Avella, Valerio Bozza, Alberto Calivà, Roberta Citro, Mario Cuoco, Annalisa De Caro, Daniele De Gruttola, Umberto Gambardella, Filippo Giubileo, Amata Mercurio, Angela Nigro, Massimiliano Polichetti, Maria Sarno, Silvia Scarpetta

Technical Committee: Salvatore Abate, Bernardo Amoruso, Carmen D’Apolito, Maurizio Di Marino, Vincenzo Di Marino, Amedeo Ferrentino, Nicola Funicello


Abstracts, in Italian or in English, can be submitted online starting from March and within 24 April 2023. Abstracts must have a maximum of 1200 charcters, without figures or references and the appropriate Section should be indicated.

Only abstracts submitted in due time and conforming to the rules will be published in the Proceedings of the Congress.

Normally each author can be reported as a speaker in one communication only.

Accepted abstracts will be presented orally in Italian or in English. As for the invited talks, the speakers will have for their presentation 20 minutes + 5 for discussion, while for contributions the speakers will have 10 minutes + 2 for discussion, accordingly to the Section programme.

One of the authors, possibly the speaker, must be member of the Italian Physical Society.


A special commission will select from each section a certain number of contributions (about 20-30%) judged particularly valuable on the basis of their content and/or exposition.

For the winners there will be prizes and/or the publication of their article in a special issue of Il Nuovo Cimento, with an online publication in "open access".

The award ceremony will take place during the opening ceremony of the 2024 SIF National Congress. Only those registered to the Congress will have the opportunity to participate in the selection.


(click here for the sections topics)

Section 1: Nuclear and Subnuclear Physics
President: Fabiana Gramegna, INFN, Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro

Section 2: Solid State Physics
President: Francesco Saverio Cataliotti, INO-CNR

Section 3: Astrophysics
President: Massimo Capaccioli, INAF

Section 4: Geophysics and Physics of the Environment
Presidents: Anna Maria Vicari, INGV e Fabio Madonna, Università di Salerno

Section 5: Biophysics and Medical Physics
President: Maria Giuseppina Bisogni, Università di Pisa

Section 6: Applied Physics, Accelerators and Physics applied to Cultural Heritage (Archaeometry)
Presidents: Speranza Falciano, GSSI, L’Aquila e Andrea Ghigo, INFN, Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati

Section 7: Physics Education and History of Physics
Presidents: Salvatore Esposito, INFN e Università di Napoli Federico II e Roberto De Luca, Università di Salerno


On Thursday 14 September from 9:00 to 13:00 , the work of the "Youth Section" will be held in collaboration with the Italian Association of Physics Students (AISF) and the EPS Young Minds Project.