"Friedel-Volterra" Prize

To honor the memory of Vito Volterra and Jacques Friedel, the Italian Physical Society (SIF) together with the Société Française de Physique (SFP), awards a prize for a physicist involved in some Italian-French collaboration, in recognition of distinguished work in Physics research carried out within the past 10 years.

The prize is jointly established in 2016 by the two Societies with the aim to commemorate the two eminent scientists as well as to strengthen the relationship between the two Societies. The prize will be awarded on an annual basis and will be alternatively announced by the SIF and SFP, respectively.

The 2018 prize is announced by the Italian Physical Society. Nominations must be sent to SIF by NEW DEADLINE 22 June 2018.

The announcement and the form for motivated nominations are downloadable here:
announcement 2018
application form 2018

List of winners

Friedel-Volterra Prize 2017

Dimitri BATANI
For the outstanding contributions in laser plasma interaction related to inertial confinement fusion.

Friedel-Volterra Prize 2016

Premio Friedel-Volterra
For having been at the origin of string theory and for having pioneered its applications to primordial cosmology, the Big Bang, and the issue of the beginning of time.